Exhilaration - dickinson and Yeats songs

Track List:

  1. Song (Christina Rossetti)

  2. Ribh in Ecstasy (W.B. Yeats)

  3. He wishes for the Cloths of Heaven (W.B. Yeats)

  4. A Coat (W.B. Yeats)

  5. The Lady's First Song (W.B. Yeats)

  6. A Drunken Man's Praise of Sobriety (W.B. Yeats)

  7. Exhilaration is the Breeze (Emily Dickinson)

  8. It bloomed and dropt, a Single Noon - (Emily Dickinson)

  9. Bee! I'm expecting you! (Emily Dickinson)

  10. We Cover Thee - Sweet Face - (Emily Dickinson)

  11. Wild Nights - Wild Nights! (Emily Dickinson)

  12. What Inn is this (Emily Dickinson)

  13. I should not dare to leave my friend (Emily Dickinson)

  14. Still own thee - still thou art - (Emily Dickinson)

  15. Exhilaration - is within - (Emily Dickinson)

  16. Lullaby (Herschel Garfein)

all music composed by Gregg Kallor

Exhilaration - Dickinson and Yeats Songs is the premiere recording of Kallor's acclaimed song-cycles of poems by Emily Dickinson and William Butler Yeats, sung by mezzo-soprano Adriana Zabala. The album also features Kallor's setting of Christina Rossetti's poem "Song," and a "Lullaby" with lyrics by GRAMMY®-winner Herschel Garfein.


Adriana Zabala, mezzo-soprano

Gregg Kallor, piano


Gregg Kallor and Adriana Zabala.jpg

Opera News logo.jpg

Opera News

"Kallor knows how to make these words sing, and Zabala gives perfect flight to them."

Sequenza 21.png

          Sequenza 21 

"[These songs] are simply beautiful and poignant works that I hope more people hear... Well crafted? Definitely. Entertaining? Yes. Well performed? Absolutely. Lyrical? You bet."

Cleveland Classical.png

Cleveland Classical

"Kallor's and Zabala's magical performance shrunk the hall to the size of an intimate club...

The highlight of the evening was the final selection, "Exhilaration," a song-cycle of nine poems by Emily Dickinson. The duo performed them without pause, and their delivery was spectacular...

This provided a mesmerizing conclusion to a concert where everything the performers touched turned into gold."


Jan Swafford

author of "Johannes Brahms: A Biography" and "Charles Ives: A Life With Music"

"Gregg Kallor is a splendid writer of songs. You find in his Yeats and Dickinson settings the virtues you look for in songs new or old but rarely find in such abundance: a fine-tuned ear, able writing for the voice, great imagination in piano color and texture, and steady sensitivity to the poetry. Most impressive of all, to my ears anyway, Kallor writes songs in which the voice part is the prime focus, partly because he is a true melodist (a rare quality always, more so in the last fifty years), equally because the vocal lines are distinctive and expressive and closely knit to the harmony. Sensitivity, subtlety, and consistency--these are his kind of qualities, and they’re ones we need. So is beauty, and when you’ve heard Kallor’s songs that’s generally the first word that comes to mind."


Steve Staruch, Minnesota Public Radio

"There's something very natural about these pieces - I got the impression that the music that's on the disc has always existed."


Fanfare Magazine

"Kallor is clearly a gifted composer who handles the demands of the genre with considerable fluency and nuance... each [song] is sensitively wrought, without a false, shallow, or meaningless gesture, while revealing subtle relationships to the text."


The Emily Dickinson International Society

"Anyone lucky enough to experience a Kallor-Zabala performance leaves the classroom or the concert hall with a newfound or renewed love of poetry."