A Fevered Dream


5-movement suite for violin, cello, and piano

Commissioned by SubCulture Arts Underground, New York

Premiered June 11th, 2015 by Miranda Cuckson (violin), Joshua Roman (cello), and Gregg Kallor (piano) at SubCulture NYC

  1. Dirty Little Secret
  2. Blink
  3. Things Unsaid
  4. Whispers
  5. Afterwards

The title of this piece comes from Edgar Lee Masters' breathless poem, "Love is a madness," and the five movements weave through the intoxication of falling in love and the searing pain of love crumbling. Masters tells us, "The beginning and the end are devoid of speech." But not of music.